Why Everyone Needs To Know About Vitamin D

After almost 10 years of being moody and always tired, I finally went to the doctor to help get some answers. I am a stubborn person that does NOT like to visit any doctor unless I absolutely have to. In this case, I did some of my own research online about fatigue and how I could fight it. I tried exercising more. I tried drinking less caffeine. I changed my diet. I did my best to stick to a consistent sleep schedule. Nothing worked.

vitamin

I was convinced that if I went to the doctor they were going to tell me I was suffering from depression although I never felt sad or hopeless. Depression is an illness that is difficult for a lot of people to understand and when I finally worked up the confidence to go and see a doctor, I remember saying to my doctor, “You are probably going to tell me I’m depressed, and I don’t want to be that”. Whether or not I wanted to be that, I was sure that is what I was about to hear. I was ready to feel better, no matter what.

After having some blood work done, I got some news that I was extremely vitamin D deficient. Vitamin D deficient? That is a thing? That would be what was causing my fatigue and moodiness all these years? There was no way! Being in denial I immediately went to the internet to figure out what this vitamin D deficiency was all about. I couldn’t believe after years and years trying to figure out why I was so tired all the time, I had never come across anything about vitamin D!

Vitamin D2

How vitamin D deficiency can interfere with your health and well-being:

  1. More likely to be depressed.
  2. You are less likely to survive cancer.
  3. Increased risk of dementia and Alzheimer’s disease.
  4. 32% increased risk of heart disease.
  5. The risk of developing pneumonia is 2.5 times greater.
  6. Unexplained fatigue.
  7. Muscle Weakness.
  8. Difficulty thinking clearly.
  9. Bone pain.
  10. Frequent bone fractures.

The hard lesson I learned after wasting 10 years feeling like a bump on a log is, when you feel like something is off….go to the doctor! I think about all the years I could have felt better, been more productive, and more motivated had I just gone to see a doctor sooner.

More than 3 million people every year are diagnosed with vitamin D deficiency and according to Harvard University, an estimated 1 billion people are low in vitamin D. There are many over-the-counter vitamin D supplements available, but for those (like me) that have an extreme deficiency may be prescribed a high dose of vitamin D. To find out if you are vitamin D deficient, ask you doctor for a blood test. Be well!

VITAMIN D4

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

